Weed delivery is legal in Rhode Island, but only for qualifying cannabis patients registered with the Department of Health (DOH). Licensed dispensaries are prohibited from delivering recreational weed to residents of the state. Registered medical marijuana patients must show their registry IDs before they can receive their weed deliveries. Weed can be delivered to medical marijuana patients at home or in hospitals or hospices where they are receiving treatment.
Yes, medical marijuana delivery is legal in Rhode Island. The Edward O. Hawkins and Thomas C. Slater Medical Marijuana Act of 2006 legalized the use of medical marijuana in the state and made provisions for medical cannabis delivery. Under regulations provided by the Rhode Island Office of Cannabis Regulation, dispensaries are allowed to make deliveries of medical marijuana to registered cardholders.
Patients who want to order medical marijuana for delivery must be registered with their preferred dispensaries. Dispensaries are allowed to make deliveries to patients who register with them once every 15 days. Under Rhode Island law, only registered cannabis patients who satisfy the following requirements can have medical marijuana delivered to them at home or in medical facilities:
No, Rhode Island does not allow dispensaries to deliver recreational marijuana to customers. The Rhode Island Cannabis Act of 2022 legalized recreational marijuana but made no provisions for recreational marijuana delivery to customers. Customers must go to the dispensaries in person to purchase their weed.
Yes, Rhode Island residents who are medical marijuana patients can order weed online from state-licensed dispensaries. Qualifying patients can also phone in to place orders for medical cannabis. All payments for weed orders must be made electronically and in advance of delivery. Cash payments for weed delivery are prohibited under Rhode Island weed delivery rules. On the other hand, recreational marijuana customers must pick up their online weed orders in person from retail stores or the designated curbsides. Dispensaries are not allowed to deliver recreational weed to customers at home in Rhode Island.
Rhode Island residents who are qualifying patients can order up to 2.5 oz. of weed every 15 days. Recreational marijuana cannot be ordered for delivery in Rhode Island.
Medical marijuana patients who are at least 18 years old can order medical cannabis and use weed delivery services in Rhode Island. It is not possible to order recreational marijuana in Rhode Island for delivery.
Only Licensed Compassion Centers (medical marijuana dispensaries) are permitted to deliver weed to qualifying patients who are registered with them. Weed delivery services can only take place between 8:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. daily in line with Rhode Island regulations. Weed delivery by licensed dispensaries in the state is regarded as "permitted sales" and "permitted compassion center activity."
Qualifying patients in Rhode Island can contact the dispensaries near them to verify if they offer weed delivery services. Most licensed medical marijuana dispensaries provide information about delivery services on their websites.
Yes, medical marijuana cardholders in Rhode Island must present their registry IDs before they can take possession of their orders from weed delivery agents. Weed delivery is not permitted for recreational purposes in the state. Cardholders must take delivery of the weed in person and not through third parties.
All cities in Rhode Island with licensed medical marijuana dispensaries allow weed delivery to registered cannabis patients. Licensed dispensaries in the state are mandated to provide delivery services to cardholders regardless of their location in the state.